Mother’s Day Realism

Happy Mother's Day

Today is Mother’s Day. Growing up, it meant creating a homemade card out of construction paper and stopping by the local greenhouse for a new flowery plant for the garden. These days, it’s a little different. I’m a mother as well as a daughter. It’s funny actually. I don’t really want things – I just want quiet. I just want a day of laziness and nothing. I want peace.

This must’ve been how my mother felt. She has three kids, along with a strenuous job as an intensive care nurse for 50 or more hours a week. I can’t even begin to imagine. She’s so strong. How can I live up to that? How could I possibly compare? She and I talk a lot more now that I’m older, now that I’m also a mother. The more we talk, the more I admire and appreciate everything she’s ever done for us – the sacrifices are literally never ending, even now. Because motherhood does not end when the kids turn eighteen and leave the nest. Now, she’s a grandmother too. I know it’s a role she loves, though the title makes her feel old. I think it makes her all the more distinguished. And the little ones sure do love their Onie.

I just wanted to stop by here today and let you all know there are different ways to show your appreciation to the mother or mother-like figures in your life. She doesn’t want things, (unless she specifically asks for something.) She wants to hear you say how much you love and appreciate her, then she wants you to leave her alone. She wants you to cook and clean and chase the kids around, preferably where she can’t hear them. She wants a true day off from the day-t0-day, because being a Super Mom is tough work.

And to those out there who have lost their mother, know that she loves you and still watches over you, because a mother is always a mother. Something as silly as death cannot stop her from watching over her babies, who will always be her babies even if they themselves are old and gray.

To all the moms out there, to my mother, my stepmother, my mother-in-law… thank you. And Happy Mother’s Day.

xoxo

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. And happy mothers day to you!
    Hope you get at least a few minutes of lazy quiet today.

    Reply
    • (Sorry for the late reply…) Yes, I did! My amazing husband did everything in his power to make sure I got to do whatever I wanted – even if that was absolutely nothing. Though there were a few toddler meltdowns, it was a fantastic day. 🙂 Thank you! xoxo

      Reply

What are your thoughts?

  • Enter your email address to follow this site and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 367 other followers

  • • Connect with M.S. Fowle •

  • Categories

  • • T U R N •

    TURN by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First Series Collection •

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First Night •

    The First Night (Book One) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First Blood •

    The First Blood (Book Two) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First War •

    The First War (Book Three) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First Light •

    The First Light (Book Four) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • Join the War with a First Shirt!

  • • Nora’s Sun •

    Click Here to Download Nora's Sun

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The Sire •

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • MelchelleDesigns.com •

  • • My Art Gallery •

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Meta

  • Tags

  • Please Respect My Copyright
  • • Copyright Notice •

    Copyright © M.S. Fowle 2012-2017
    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to M.S. Fowle with direct links to the original content.

