My Apologies

I feel like I need to apologize. I’ve been less than active lately. But family comes first.

Our family has faced a number of tribulations over this past year, ones we are facing together, ones we refuse to let overwhelm us. Honestly, I wake up some days and wonder how the hell we keep going. But we do. My husband gives me strength. I hope I give him some in return. But our son, aside from the fact that he is well immersed in his terrible 3’s, is probably the one empowering us both to stay strong. He is, after all, our little miracle. I’ve tried to tell you his tale a number of times, but always end up deleting it. Someday, you’ll hear our story. For now, I’ll give you the gist of what’s going.

My amazing mother-in-law, who watches our son while we work, is ill. She’s having surgery on Monday and will probably be laid up for about a month or more. It all depends on how it goes. My husband and I were each at work when we got the news and we both freaked out in our own way. He kept stepping outside to clear his head, only to realize there wasn’t anything he could but wait. I jumped in my car and went straight to her house. She had to meet with her doctor to arrange the surgery and needed someone to watch the kids, as our son is not the only child she cares for. I was used to one kid, not the multiple children under her care. Luckily, my husband’s cousin came over to help. I honestly have no idea how my mother-in-law does it. But she has a system and it works for her. When she was going through who eats what for lunch, she turned to see this look of lost of my face and laughed. “Just feed them,” she said. I could handle that.

A diagnosis of uterine cancer is never a good one. But they caught hers early. Stage One could most likely be treated with surgery alone. We certainly hope so. My son is with her just about everyday. He loves and needs his Grammy. We love and need her too. I’m proud to say I have three mothers – my momma, my stepmother, and my mother-in-law. They have each raised me in their own way, each taught me something about myself, and each have made me stronger just for knowing them. I need all my mommies. And husband needs his too. But the last thing we want is to see our son lose someone so close to him. That’s why we’re so hopeful of the prognosis. That’s why we’re doing all we can to stay strong – for him.

So, I’ll be getting in plenty of Mommy and Me time while we wait for her to recover. My boss is incredibly understanding, especially since he lost his own mother to cancer six years ago. I thought he was going to cry when I told him what was going on. But we arranged for me to work on my husband’s days off and my mother is setting things up to take him a couple days here and there so I can still bring in some sort of income. Luckily, she’s a nurse – an awesome one. She can explain things we don’t really understand and knows how to lift our spirits as we all face this from different perspectives.

I will pop in during nap times, maybe with a poem or some pretty pictures or just some small anecdote. So all I ask is that you bear with me while we get through this. And even though I don’t actually know any of you in real life, I gain strength from you too. And for that, I thank you.

Until next time, take care of yourselves and each other. πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Hang in there Mel! I hope she recovers soon πŸ˜€

    Reply
  2. No apologies, Mel. Life doesn’t stop for anyone. Grab support when you need it and hang on.

    Reply
  3. I clicked over here from your link on AW. I’m so sorry to hear you’re going through this. Best wishes for your mother in law’s health.

    Reply
  4. Take care of yourself, Mel.

    Reply
  5. This is a very personal part of your life to share my friend but never apologise for not being able to frequent your Space or anyone else’s, we all understand that life outside the blogosphere is often rather difficult.

    It sometimes keeps us from our friends, but all you need to focus on is your mother-in-law and I for one wish her a strong and swift recovery. It all takes time so no hurrying back to post anything or add comments on other fiends blogs, just take a step back, take some deep breaths and be well. We will all be here when you can return.

    Andro xx

    Reply
  6. Mel, what we do on here is a form of friendship and community – and no matter how strong our bonds are, family comes first. Particularly moms, and regardless of the suffix behind them. Hang in there, kid…prayers are with you and yours πŸ™‚

    Thomas

    Reply
  7. My thoughts are with you and your family Mel hope the surgery goes well. Hope all she needs is surgery. Early last year I had major surgery for cancer of the vulva which apparently is a rare form of cancer. They got it all with surgery and I only have to be checked every 6 months because they said it’s the type that re-occurs. My response was “I don’t think so” my Oncologist said ‘good attitude’ So I am sending all good thoughts to your mother-in-law

    Reply
    • So glad you’re feeling better, hun. My mother-in-law’s surgery went really well. She should go home either today or tomorrow. All those “women’s cancer” (as they say) aren’t usually caught until stage 3 or 4, because that’s when they start to show symptoms. It’s usually something else they go get checked for when it’s discovered early enough. Thank God she had those kidney stones. Will update everyone later this week. Thanks so much for your kind words. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  8. Wishing your mother in law well. Take care of yourself and your family.

    Reply
  9. fionakernaghan

     /  September 26, 2013

    Hi, Mel. Thank you for following my fledgling Create An Enchanted Life blog! I’m sorry to read of your family’s recent troubles but am sending good thoughts for a return to blissful normal:)

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

  • Enter your email address to follow this site and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 367 other followers

  • β€’ Connect with M.S. Fowle β€’

  • Categories

  • β€’ T U R N β€’

    TURN by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • β€’ The First Series Collection β€’

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • β€’ The First Night β€’

    The First Night (Book One) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • β€’ The First Blood β€’

    The First Blood (Book Two) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • β€’ The First War β€’

    The First War (Book Three) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • β€’ The First Light β€’

    The First Light (Book Four) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • Join the War with a First Shirt!

  • β€’ Nora’s Sun β€’

    Click Here to Download Nora's Sun

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • β€’ The Sire β€’

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • β€’ MelchelleDesigns.com β€’

  • β€’ My Art Gallery β€’

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Meta

  • Tags

  • Please Respect My Copyright
  • β€’ Copyright Notice β€’

    Copyright Β© M.S. Fowle 2012-2017
    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to M.S. Fowle with direct links to the original content.

