Interview with a First: Zeke

I caught up with Zeke, clan warrior leader of the First, for an in-depth interview about the secret war against Odin and his view on humans in the world today. It wasn’t easy finding him, or convincing him to speak with me. When the interview began, he barely made eye-contact with me. I couldn’t tell if he was nervous or starting to get hungry.

Zeke
by M.S. Fowle

________________________________________________________

(Me) Would you state your full name for the record, please?

(Zeke) Ezekiel de Romana

Where are you from?

(Z) I was born in Turkey, but I was raised and trained in Romania.

What struck me odd at this point was his accent. A human from eastern Europe would’ve had one.

And how old are you?

(Z) I don’t know an exact number. I began my warrior training about three centuries ago.

He doesn’t look a day over twenty-five.

How old were you when you started training?

(Z) Any First chosen for the clans begins training within the initial year of life. But to a human, we would appear to be a few years older.

So, the First grow and develop faster than humans?

(Z) Only for the first ten years or so, before we suspend.

What’s suspend?

(Z) In a way, time stops for us. We remain as adolescents for about a century, training the whole time. Then, we resume transition into adulthood as any human would and suspend again. We train for another hundred years before we are officially ordained as warriors.

I’m no scientist, but this all sounded like a biological impossibility. But like I said, I’m no scientist.

What’s the purpose of the clan warriors? What do you train for?

(Z) We fight to protect all First against the tyranny of Odin. We have done so for thousands of years.

I’ve heard of Odin. Someone said they’ve been disguising themselves as various corporate organizations in order to fund their operations. And with the First being so out of touch with the modern human world, doesn’t that put you at a disadvantage?

(Z) We fight with what we have. Even if we had nothing, we would still fight. That’s all that matters.

I was nodding. How could I deny that kind of dedication?

Now… I was advised not to bring this up, but there seems to be a lot of similarities between the First and vampires.

(Z) You were advised correctly.

My heart stopped. No one had ever glared at me like that. I swear, his eyes almost glowed–like a lion about pounce on his prey.

I meant no offense…

(Z) All those myths and folklore were concocted by Odin to portray us as demons and convince humans to hate and fear us.

He hadn’t quite calm down yet, but I couldn’t let this opportunity escape me.

That brings up a good point, actually. Isn’t it true the First hate humans?

(Z) They deserve nothing less for what they’ve done to us.

What about Alex?

(Z) What about her?

He was starting to get that glow in his eyes again. No turning back now.

Well, for starters, why her? What makes her different from other humans?

(Z) We… we fight the same enemy. She is strong and loyal… like a clan warrior.

I could tell he chose his words carefully.

The others said they’ve seen you protect her in battle.

(Z) She’s done the same for me. That’s what comrades do.

So, you’ve gone from hating humans to calling them your comrades. She must’ve made quite an impression.

He turned away for a moment. But when he looked back at me, the expression on his face was nothing but calm.

(Z) She’s the only reason I’m even talking to you.

________________________________________________________

Our interview ended there. The team was called on a mission, of which I was given no details. My experience may have been a bit nerve-racking at first, but my brief meeting with Zeke has opened my mind far more than I expected.

The First are more like us than we might want to believe. But they’re angry. And quite honestly, I don’t blame them.

________________________________________________________

Read The First Night (Book One) for FREE

The First Night by M.S. Fowle

FREE for Kindle >> CLICK HERE

FREE for Nook >> CLICK HERE

FREE on Smashwords >> CLICK HERE

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Now not that I am greedy in any way shape or form BUT PLEASE can we have a full length picture next maybe one where he is whirling round with his swords and that long coat is flying out swishing around him (is it wrong to great a crush on fictional characters?) then next you can do Bade looking all dark and brooding and menacing oh my I think I need to go lie down 😀

    Reply
    • Hehehe – exactly the Paula response I expected. And OF COURSE you can crush on a fictional character, or two, or three. 😉 If I had any talent in traditional art, I would definitely do a full body image. I may have to commission another artist for that. I do have a few in mind. Just gotta round up the funds. So thrilled you’re enjoying the eye candy, Paula! No worries – Bade will be next venture. 😀

      Reply

What are your thoughts?

  • Enter your email address to follow this site and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 367 other followers

  • • Connect with M.S. Fowle •

  • Categories

  • • T U R N •

    TURN by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First Series Collection •

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First Night •

    The First Night (Book One) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First Blood •

    The First Blood (Book Two) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First War •

    The First War (Book Three) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First Light •

    The First Light (Book Four) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • Join the War with a First Shirt!

  • • Nora’s Sun •

    Click Here to Download Nora's Sun

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The Sire •

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • MelchelleDesigns.com •

  • • My Art Gallery •

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Meta

  • Tags

  • Please Respect My Copyright
  • • Copyright Notice •

    Copyright © M.S. Fowle 2012-2017
    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to M.S. Fowle with direct links to the original content.

