Hunting With Heroes

Hunting With Heroes

There are two things you may or may not know about me: I come from a military family and I live in Maine.

Maine is usually known for its beautiful rocky coastline and our lobster. But, if you head just wee bit to the north, you will find lovely forests and mountainous terrains. Our local Maine Guides (Hi, Dad!) will guide you to the best views, as well as THE best hunting spots. Now, I’m not one for hunting – I shot a squirrel once with an air rifle, right out of the top of a tree. It fell to the ground, barely alive and twitching. So my dad tells me to “finish it off.” But I couldn’t. I was done. Like my older brother after his first deer hunting experience, I learned hunting is NOT for me.

But it’s a way of life for many around here. It’s tradition, techniques passed down through the generations, secret hunting spots never shared with any other bloodline. That, along with my family’s military heritage, gives me the esteemed pleasure to share a new and growing non-profit organization with you all. It was started by one my friends, a Navy Seal, in an effort to preserve and maintain land where disabled veterans can enjoy the thrills of the outdoors.

Please welcome Hunting With Heroes!

Hunting With Heroes

I know some of you are not meat-eaters, and I respect that. But this is about more than just hunting. It’s about helping veterans maintain a way of life. When you’ve grown up loving the outdoors, go to war and come home injured, you just want what’s normal. You want to live your life they way you always have, live the life you love. For many, an organization like this is the only way to do so.

So, please, check them out, “like” and “follow” them and, if you find it in your heart, give what you can. It truly means the world to our soldiers.

Thank you for reading. And thank you to the fine people of Hunting With Heroes for opening their hearts to their brothers and sisters in arms.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on T. W. Dittmer and commented:
    M.S. Fowle has pointed out a cause worthy of consideration. Check it. Think about it.

    Reply
  2. Thanks, Mel.

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

