The Next Big THING Blog Hop

Welcome to my very first Blog Hop! πŸ˜€

First of all, I offer my sincerest thanks to S.B. Robinson for inviting me to join this event. I first met Ms. Robinson, aka Meka, via Twitter – she’s very kind and thoughtful, so I encourage you all to get to know her.

S.B. Robinson is the author of the Popular Life Series (My Popular Life, My Formerly Popular Life, & My Not So Popular Life)

You can find her online:

Blog: http://thepopularlife.wordpress.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ThePopularLife

Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/PopularLifeSeries

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6549584.S_B_Robinson

Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B0095MRHL4

In this blog hop event, the participants must answer 10 questions about their work. So, without further ado…

(1) What is the working title of your book?

The Sire

(2) Where did the idea for this book come from?

I went through a rather obsessive phase for the work of Hayao Miyazaki. His animated film adaptation of Howl’s Moving Castle inspired The Sire.

(3) What genre does your book come under?

It’s a historical urban fantasy geared towards tween/teen readers, but I’m sure young adults will enjoy it as well.

(4) Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

This one is tough, mostly because I’m not on the up-and-up when it comes to teen actors these days. I had to do some research…

As Claire, I went with Elle Fanning (Dakota Fanning’s little sister) though I picture Claire’s hair a bit darker:

Finding someone to fit Walter wasn’t easy either. I’m just plain out of touch. But I went with Callan McAuliffe, soon to appear in The Great Gatsby in 2013:

(5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

“He who finds The Sire will either end the war… or the world itself.”

(6) Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?

All of my books, so far, are self-published ebooks on Amazon.com

(7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I actually wrote it a number of years ago, so I don’t remember exactly. If I had to guess, maybe a couple of months.

(8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I have to stick with Diana Wynn Jones’ Howl’s Moving Castle, more to do with the fact that her characters live in a world where magic knowingly exists – it’s a part of everyday life, influencing both minor and major events.

(9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I actually started writing The Sire with my niece in mind, who was about 12 or 13 at the time. I let her read the first draft, which she finished in one night.

(10) What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I tried to touch on some serious issues within the story. First and foremost is discrimination. Claire was raised to believe that all Mages only use their magick to hurt others, so she immediately sees Walter as mischievous and unworthy of her trust. Even her king and countrymen view Mages as the scum of the world, with no just cause. And even though we’ve come a long way in our own world, discrimination is still prevalent – personally, politically, and globally. That was one of the reasons I chose to set The Sire in Europe in the late 1930s. It was a time when discrimination ultimately caused World War that spread hate throughout every country and led to the deaths of millions of innocent people. We, as humans, still have a lot to learn.

* Due to the holidays, I was unable to find authors who had the time to participate. Below is a list I’ve started for a total of 5 authors to join us. If you’d like to toss your hat into the ring, by all means comment below and I will email you the details. The following authors will post on Wednesday, January 2nd:

1.) Shirley S. Simonhttp://superphoenix.wordpress.com/

2.)

3.)

4.)

5.)

Thank you all for joining me today! And don’t forget to revisit the authors I’ve tagged on January 2nd 2013 for the next hop!

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. I should be able to accept your invite assuming new laptop arrives on time

    Reply
  2. Congratulations! I wish you big sales and critical success! BTW, check my blog on 12/27. I have a surprise for you!

    Reply
  3. SBRobinson

     /  December 26, 2012

    Looks fabulous!

    Reply
  4. I don’t typically watch movies like Howl’s Moving Castle, but I decided to watch it a couple of years ago and I love the story. Reading your NBT has my really excited about The Sire! It is definitely on my TBR list. Looking forward to the release πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Mel! Have I told you that I CAN’T WAIT TO READ THE SIRE? If I haven’t well……I CAN’T WAIT TO READ THE SIRE! SOUNDS SO SUPER AMAZING! I love Elle Fanning. She’s so adorable.

    Reply
    • CALM YOURSELF WOMAN! πŸ˜‰ lol If you’re this excited now, I can’t wait to see what you think of tomorrows post… πŸ˜€

      Reply

What are your thoughts?

