Frankenstorm – RAWR!

Hurricane Sandy is barreling up the eastern seaboard, and most Mainers couldn’t care less. Well, unless you’re on the coast, then you might want to stock up or head inland. A hurricane at the end of October is unheard of. A blizzard would be more believable. I’m not too worried about flooding. It’s the wind that’s got me nervous. We have this ancient spruce tree next to our house that’s riddled with widow-makers just waiting to ruin my day. We had someone come and do an estimate on taking it down. But when he said that all he had were a couple ladders, I lost all confidence in his abilities. This tree is big.

I’m no whiz when it comes to math, but I figured out that when it does come down, we’ve got a 25% chance of it not destroying anything of value. It’ll either land next to the garage, on the garage (which will upset my husband), on the house (which will upset both of us, but me more if it takes out my computer), or on my car (which actually wouldn’t bother us so much because it’s got full coverage.) Given the direction it’s already leaning, the chance of it landing anywhere else is close to nil.

All I know is that this storm better clear out for Halloween. I was going to take the boy to the mall to go trick-or-treating, but I just found out that they’re not giving out candy this year – even though they’ve done it every year since I was a kid. But I know my son will be fine. Just dressing up will be fun enough for him. And I think he gets a kick out of giving out candy to the other kids. The only problem with that is that we have to go to my in-laws to do it. We’ve been living in this house for 9 years, and we’ve never had trick-or-treaters – a curse of living in the middle of freakin’ nowhere. Don’t get me wrong – my in-laws are awesome. My only issue with going over there is that they have a family friend who is a clown for Shriners – if he shows up in full dress and makeup again, I’ll be hiding in the kitchen like the last time.

Buckle down, people. It’s gonna be a big one!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Funny. I know a little about hurricanes, being down here in Florida. Sounds like you will be okay, I hope. I watched a guy and his wife take down a very tall tree with one ladder, a rope and a chain saw. There was nowhere for the branches to land, because the tree was closely surrounded by houses. If they know what they are doing, it’s amazing how quickly and efficiently they can take it down. Stay warm and dry.

    Reply
  2. Stay safe, stock up on essentials (water, water, water and toilet paper!) .:D

    Reply
  3. Sounds like you’re all buttoned up, but take care. Hard to tell how this one will turn out, as the news media hypes everything so much. Yeah, I’m a cynic about that. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Hope you’re all doing okay out there on the east coast! (I’m in Michigan). And I hope your tree isn’t sitting in the middle of your living room or atop your computer! Nice little post, here. There you go, causing me to grin again. Take care. And really nice writing. xoxoJulia

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

  • Enter your email address to follow this site and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 367 other followers

  • • Connect with M.S. Fowle •

  • Categories

  • • T U R N •

    TURN by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First Series Collection •

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First Night •

    The First Night (Book One) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First Blood •

    The First Blood (Book Two) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First War •

    The First War (Book Three) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First Light •

    The First Light (Book Four) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • Join the War with a First Shirt!

  • • Nora’s Sun •

    Click Here to Download Nora's Sun

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The Sire •

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • MelchelleDesigns.com •

  • • My Art Gallery •

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Meta

  • Tags

  • Please Respect My Copyright
  • • Copyright Notice •

    Copyright © M.S. Fowle 2012-2017
    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to M.S. Fowle with direct links to the original content.

