Busy Week

I was starting to feel bad that I haven’t really posted much of anything too useful on my blog lately. I see all my indie author buddies creating these great, helpful posts about writing and publishing, but I got nothing at the moment. It’s just been such a busy week/month/summer.

For starters, I had my promo. One would think that I just selected my dates on Amazon, sat back, and watched it all happen. I wish. When doing a giveaway, you want to let everyone know in anyway that you can. Between filling out form after form on free ebook listing sites, posting on writing forums, Shelfari, Goodreads, and with the help of my fine blog followers (thank you again, btw) more than 4,000 books went out. But it didn’t end there.

“They” say the first 24 hours after your promo are the most critical. I was still getting a nice, steady stream of downloads, except this time, they were paid. My books ended up ranking rather well on the Amazon UK Paid Bestseller list, and remained there for nearly the two weeks. It was exciting to see, and actually get screen shots. Now, we’re halfway through the month, two weeks after my promo ended, and I am quite pleased with the sales that have resulted. I’m still selling books in both the US and UK stores, though they’re all ranked at about #30k. But add a zero to the end of that and that’s where my books had been lingering before I did my giveaway. I’m happy to say that, with the month only half over, I’ve sold 10 times as many books as I did last month. Plus, more reviews have been trickling in, on Amazon and Goodreads.

To those of you with your e-work ONLY on Smashwords – if that’s working for you, then keep at it. But if you want to try a new approach and reach a much larger market, you may want to consider Amazon’s KDP Select. You’re only committed to three months, then you can cancel and head on back to where you were before. It’s something to consider at least.

Another reason things have been busy is that my little brother is home! He’s in the Navy and has been training in Washington state for the past 8 months. He’s stationed in D.C., and got 10 days leave for the Fourth of July. So, him and his wife and they’re adorable 1yrold redheaded daughter drove up to Maine (oh, and their 4 dogs! – they’re foster parents to dogs from a local shelter.) My son had a few territorial issues with his baby cousin, but there weren’t as many meltdowns as I had expected. Someday soon he’ll realize: when a redheaded female tells you to do something, you’d best do it. 😉 It’s funny really… I’m the only ginger of all my siblings, but both my younger brother and younger (step)sister had ALL red-haired kids! How unfair is that?

Ain’t he cute in his little sailor suit?

Now, officially starting today, my husband is on vacation. Of course, I have to be at work in 2 hours, which leaves him with the boy. Then, either late tomorrow or early Monday, we head UPTA CAMP! Yay! It’s so nice and quiet, and much cooler to help deal with the oppressive heat we’ve had lately. The lake is about as cold as the ocean though, so we don’t usually swim there. But I think this time, we just might have to. And I’ve already told the husband that I AM bringing my laptop, but I promised not to be glued to it the whole time we’re there. By the way, camp is located on Moosehead Lake in northern Maine, named so for an obvious reason. Just Google images of “Moosehead Lake” and you’ll see how freaking awesome it is up there. I’ll try to remember to get some pics of our camp, and our kickass views, to share with you later.

So, do not fret, my friends. And don’t start yelling at me, Paula and easyondeyes! I am writing and working hard to finish Book Four of The First Series. But considering my husband works 6 days a week, and we hardly ever get some real family time at camp, I’m going to enjoy our time up there. Family first! 😀

Oh, and I was at 99 follows when I wrote this. I would LOVE to see that lovely “100” happen today. I’m sure it will incline me to pick a random follower to win their very own Chimera Hunter t-shirt. 😉

Have a great weekend!

Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. You’re a ball of fire, woman, an inspiration to us plodders.

    Reply
  2. What an enjoyable read! Thank you! Looking forward to your books and more of your blogs! Happy vacation with your family! xo Julia

    Reply
  3. okay you are entitled to a holiday but we demand photographic proof you had a good time I think that is only fair

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

  • Enter your email address to follow this site and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 367 other followers

  • • Connect with M.S. Fowle •

  • Categories

  • • T U R N •

    TURN by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First Series Collection •

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First Night •

    The First Night (Book One) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First Blood •

    The First Blood (Book Two) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First War •

    The First War (Book Three) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The First Light •

    The First Light (Book Four) by M.S. Fowle

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • Join the War with a First Shirt!

  • • Nora’s Sun •

    Click Here to Download Nora's Sun

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • The Sire •

    Click to Get it on Amazon

  • • MelchelleDesigns.com •

  • • My Art Gallery •

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Meta

  • Tags

  • Please Respect My Copyright
  • • Copyright Notice •

    Copyright © M.S. Fowle 2012-2017
    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to M.S. Fowle with direct links to the original content.

