The Unorganized Obsessive-Compulsive

I’ll be completely honest with you: I’m not totally sure if I have OCD or not, but it sure feels that way sometimes. I make sure the toys and books in my sons room are stacked and placed just so, and forget about my insistent neatness at work. Then there are the little things that add up: how I dress my son, the way I wrap a gift, how I load the dishwasher, where I put things in my car or my purse. So why oh why are my notes all over the damn place?

I’m going through some WIPs and I’m finding all these notes. I’ve got outlines and alternate outlines and alternates of the alternate outlines, or random scenes typed out in their own document with no idea of where they came from or where they should go. This is what happens when I let a story fester too much. Sure, my characters grow in my head to exactly what I want, but their stories start to overlap and mix up and confuse me. There’s too much and it’s quickly getting lost.

So, I’m buckling down. I’m reaching inside for the obsessive-compulsive me to get to work. I often find myself cleaning up after others: my son, sometimes my husband (he’s usually pretty good about picking up after himself), my co-workers, or the random trash that ends up on my front lawn from drive-bys of the lazy and inconsiderate. It’s about time I cleaned up after myself for once. If writing is my passion, I owe it to show it some.

Wish me luck. 😉

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I don’t know…. some stuff is better left kinda random. That’s not advice or wisdom or really even a thought. That’s just random. 😛

    Reply
  2. I wish you luck! I know what you mean though. I’ve got boxes of papers covered in doodles and things with notes for characters and story stuffs in the margins and I have no idea who the hell this dude in the picture is nor why I thought it was important that I kill his girlfriend and he likes to eat raw fish.

    Reply
  3. Good luck to you 🙂 I hope you do get things in order. I myself am stuck half way through my next book. The sequence of events is completely fine tuned –in my head at least and i end up scribbling through parts on paper, but can’t seem to get it all together. I hope i too am able to complete this one soon. I guess we all should just start a campaign of pushing each other to get the work done 🙂

    Reply
  4. Lovetiggi's Book Reviews

     /  June 8, 2012

    Reblogged this on Lovetiggi's Book Reviews.

    Reply
  5. I had to look for this post to say – Hurry up! 😛

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

