Updates: Good News & Bad

No one likes bad news, so I’ll start with that.

Most of you know that I lost my grandmother a couple months ago. Well, a few weeks ago, we found out that my aunt has end stage cancer. She used to work as a hairdresser back when people didn’t realize the chemicals they were using were so bad for them. At this point, and I hate admitting it, doctors are merely trying to control the pain. It’s not something that’s easy to accept, but the family is doing their best. They’re a close-knit group and they’ve rallied together. My aunt is a strong, spiritual woman whose smile brightens the world. If you can spare a prayer or two for her and her family, I’m sure she would welcome and appreciate it very much.

On top of that, my father-in-law was diagnosed with prostate cancer, for which he’ll have surgery in a month or two to begin treatment. It was heartbreaking to receive so much bad news all at once, but we’re supporting each other as best we can. So far, the outlook is good and we’re expecting a full recovery. I’m doing my best to stay strong for my husband and son, which I’ve only been able to do thanks to my mother – thank you for the warm hugs and lending me an ear, Mom.

NOW – on to better news!

I’ve added a couple new pieces to My Artwork. The first one is a contest entry, but the winner won’t be drawn until March.

Messengerby M.S. Fowle

Messenger
by M.S. Fowle

This next one is a play on the popularity of Jack Frost with an image I created of his sister, appropriately named Jill Frost.

Jill Frostby M.S. Fowle

Jill Frost
by M.S. Fowle

I’m also pleased to tell you that I’m in the process of selling 3 book covers this week via Melchelle Designs – 2 Premades and 1 Custom. I can’t wait to share the final covers with you all so you can meet some new authors and find some new reads!

And finally – we can’t forget the SHARE THE LOVE CAMPAIGN launching in 10 days! I’d love to feature your book that weekend! Just CLICK HERE to find the contact form to have your work shared with my followers here, on Facebook, and on Twitter! You can also start your own campaign and even use the images I’ve posted. Or, if you’d rather, simply reblog my post to let your followers know about this great opportunity!

Share The Love 2013

Thank you all so much for everything! Writing and art have been a great way to relieve the stress that’s been building in my life, and I love that I can share it with you.

Take care everyone!

Next Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Prayers for your family. Mel. I’ve had several relatives and friends pass all too early and I know how much it hurts. Stay strong.

    Reply
  2. Sending lots of love and cyber hugs your way hun am beginning to go right off 2013 I guess we can but hope that it can only get better

    Reply
  3. Ouch – best wishes

    Reply
  4. Mel, I’m so sorry to hear all this. As you saw, my buddy was done in by cancer – as was his father, and his sister. My mother had it, it went into remission, then came back and got her. If there was ever a disease created by the devil himself, we know it’s name. My prayers for you and your family :)
    Thomas

    Reply
  5. Nothing can be said that will completely dull the confusion and sense of helplessness.

    Don’t stay angry.

    Congrats on the book covers! You have so much talent. Let it shine.

    Reply
  6. My grandmother used to say that it was best to receive a lot of bad news at once – that ultimately it made the indvidual pain more bearable. I hope that’s true, as I hope you and your family stay strong as you face the grief and yet remain soft enough to embrace the blessings that may accompany it.

    Reply
  7. Sorry to hear about all your bad news, I hope you get some super de duper good news to help make things a little better. And awesome new covers, I really like the one with the owl.

    Reply
  8. Gosh, saying I’m sorry to hear such terrible news for you seems so inadequate, but I am very sorry for you and your family nonetheless. Prayers to you and yours.

    Reply
  9. Stay Strong and don’t lose heart. The Lord always looks after his children.

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 343 other followers

